How many letters are there in Hiragana?


In the Japanese writing system, three are three forms of letters.

Hiragana ひらがな, Katakana カタカナ, Kanji 漢字 (Chinese characters).

Each Kana (Hiragana and Katakana) corresponds to a sound.

Both Hiragana and Katakana consist of 46 letters each.

Hiragana developed from man’yōgana, Chinese characters used for their pronunciations, a practice which started in the 5th century.


a i u e o
ka ki ku ke ko
sa shi su se so
ta chi tsu te to
na ni nu ne no
ha hi fu he ho
ma mi mu me mo
ya yu yo
ra ri ru re ro
wa o